The Falkland Islands

Where in the World
Located in the South Atlantic, some 300 miles off the coast of Patagonia, the Falkland Islands is a British Overseas Territory made up of East Falkland, West Falkland, and 776 other small islands.
With a population of only 3,398, the Falklands is a small, close community.

Compromised largely of native-born Islanders, Brits, St. Helenians, Chileans, Filipinos and Zimbabweans among other nationalities, some families can trace their heritage back nine generations on the Islands following settlement in the mid-18th Century.



Entirely self-sufficient in all areas but defence, the economy of the Falkland Islands is led by three key industries: fishing, tourism, and agriculture, with a nascent oil industry under development.

The fishing industry is by far the largest, alone contributing between 50% and 60% of the territory’s annual GDP since the declaration of a 160-nautical-mile radius Fisheries Conservation & Management Zone in 1986.



One of the main draws of the Falkland Islands is its wide biodiversity and easily accessible wildlife. An abundance of penguins, albatross, seals, whales and dolphins and other marine species litter the archipelago and are a crucial attraction for the Islands’ burgeoning tourism industry.

Wildlife and environmental conservation are key concerns for Islanders and their governance.
Find out more about the Falkland Islands here
Our Rights

Self Determination

Argentina has long laid claim to the Falkland Islands and in 1982 initiated the 74-day conflict that claimed 649 Argentine military, 255 British military, and three Falkland Island lives. The political hostilities have continued.
However in 2013 Falkland Islanders voted overwhelmingly in favour of their British sovereignty in a referendum, with 99.8% voting to remain a British territory.